The "Buxtehude Bull"

The “Buxtehude Bull” is one of the most remunerated German literature prizes. Winfried Zimann, once a book dealer in Buxtehude, Winfried Ziemann, initiated the prize in 1971. Ever since, it has been awarded to the best youth fiction book (published in the German language) annually.

The goal of the “Bull” is to enthuse youth to actively and intensively read as well as to promote good youth books.

The city of Buxtehude took over sponsorship in 1981. The prize gets its name from Ferdinand, the placid bull from the well-known children's picture book, “The Story of Ferdinand” by Munro Leaf, first published in 1937. The literature award includes prize money of €5000 and an award of a steel bull-shaped statue, made by the sculptor Reinhard Güthling.

Any fiction youth books that were first published in, or into, the German language in the past calendar year may participate in the competition - including translations. The books up for selection are youth books that are marked by their publishers for the target groups “from 13 years of age” or “from 14 years of age”.

The winner is determined by a jury of eleven young readers and eleven adults. The jury is formed anew every year.

From the received applications, four groups are determined by drawing lots:

  • Seven youths and seven adults residing in Buxtehude,
  • Four youths and four adults from elsewhere.

öffentliche Preisverleihung am Fr, 8. November 2019 ab 19 Uhr auf der Halepaghen-Bühne, Konopkastraße 5
  • "Now Is Everything"

    Amy Giles

  • "Der Junge auf dem Berg"

    John Boyne

  • "Every Last Word"

    Tamara Ireland Stone
  • "Red Queen"

    Victoria Aveyard
  • "28 Days"

    David Safier
  • "Dann mach ich eben Schluss"

    Christine Fehér
  • "The fault in our stars"

    John Green
  • "Delirium"

    Lauren Oliver
  • "Life as we knew it"

    Susan Beth Pfeffer
  • "The Hunger Games"

    Suzanne Collins
  • "The Book Thief"

    Markus Zusak
  • "Liverpool Street"

    Anne C. Voorhoeve
  • "Twilight"

    Stephenie Meyer
  • "Lucas"

    Kevin Brooks
  • "Die Lagune der Galeeren"

    Rainer Maria Schröder
  • "The House of the Scorpion"

    Nancy Farmer
  • "Over a Thousand Hills I Walk with You"

    Hanna Jansen
  • "Someone to run with"

    David Grossman
  • "The Juniper Game"

    Sherryl Jordan
  • "Against All Odds"

    John Marsden
  • "The Center of the World"

    Andreas Steinhöfel
  • "The Museum of Stolen Memories"

    Ralf Isau
  • "Through a Glass, Darkly"

    Jostein Gaarder
  • "Turmhoch und meilenweit"

    Tonke Dragt
  • "Ludvig meine Liebe"

    Katarina von Bredow
  • "Der erste Frühling"

    Klaus Kordon
  • "Manchmal gehört mir die ganze Welt"

    Mecka Lind
  • "Ein Haus für alle"

    Ursula Wölfel
  • "Rosalie"

    Maria Seidemann, † 2010
  • "Gute Nacht, Zuckerpüppchen"

    Heidi Glade-Hassenmüller
  • "Sternschnuppenzeit"

    Isolde Heyne, † 2009
  • "Talking in Whispers"

    James Watson
  • "Across the Barricades"

    Joan Lingard
  • "Annas Geschichte"

    Urs M. Fiechtner
  • "Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry"

    Mildred D. Taylor
  • "The Last Children of Schewenborn"

    Gudrun Pausewang
  • "No Hero for the Kaiser"

    Rudolf Frank, † 1997
  • "Alan and Naomi"

    Myron Levoy
  • "The Short Life of Sophie Scholl"

    Hermann Vinke
  • "The Neverending Story"

    Michael Ende, † 1995
  • "Star Without a Sky"

    Leonie Ossowski
  • "Die Not der Familie Caldera"

    Gudrun Pausewang
  • "World of Ben Lighthart: Living with blindness"

    Jaap ter Haar, † 1999
  • "The Upstairs Room"

    Johanna Reiss
  • "Cross-Fire"

    Gail Graham
  • "Thoms Bericht"

    Tilman Röhrig
  • "Tignasse, Kind der Revolution"

    Cili Wethekam, † 1975
  • "The Last Man Alive"

    Alexander S. Neill, † 1973


    Buxtehude Bull 2018 goes to US Author Amy Giles

    Buxtehude Bull 2018 goes to US Author Amy Giles

    Buxtehude. The US author, Amy Giles, has been honoured with the renowned German Youth Literature Prize: The Buxtehude Bull, for her book “Now is Everything” (translated from English by the Hamburg author, Isabel Abedi, cbj Verlag in Munich). A jury comprised of eleven youths and eleven adults held a majority vote for the author. The award is endowed with €5000 and a steel-plastic sculpture in the shaped of a bull. The official award ceremony is tentatively planned for the end of the year.

    Read more

    Youth Literature: John Boyne is the new Winner of the Bull

    Youth Literature: John Boyne is the new Winner of the Bull

    Buxtehude. On Tuesday evening, 22nd January, bestselling Irish author, John Boyne, received the €5000 endowed youth literature award, the Buxtehude Bull, from the hands of Buxtehude Mayor, Katja Oldenburg-Schmidt. “I feel very honoured to receive this award”, said the 1971 born Irishman at the official award ceremony in Buxtehude, Germany.

    Read more

    Hansestadt Buxtehude | Bahnhofstraße 7 | 21614 Buxtehude