Skip to main content


for the determination of the prize winner of the youth book prize BUXTEHUDE BULL

1. Book

Requirements for the participation of a youth book:

a) Fiction book
b) New publication
c) Youth audience (as opposed to a children's audience)

2. Jury

The jury is composed of 11 teenagers and 11 adults. They may apply in writing, or in person, to the city of Buxtehude. Every jury participant may only participate twice consecutively.

The maximum age for youths is 17, the minimum age is 14. The jury is not limited to region. Interested persons from other areas are also welcome to participate.

3. Procedure

The competing books are available in the Buxtehude City Hall. Each judge receives two books respectively by post that are to be returned after reading. Then each judge will receive a further two other books.

Many positive ratings bring a book to the finals. Three negative ratings eliminate the book.
All the books that reach the final level get rated by all 22 judges.
The jury's prize-winner decision takes place publicly in Buxtehude by counting of previously sent-in mail votes from the all of the judges.

The decision is made without previous discussion. This procedure was selected to prevent judges from being manipulated in their opinions at the last minute.
As soon as it is clear which youth books have reached the final level, the judges are asked to rate which final-round book is the first, second, third, fourth and fifth places.

For each competing book:

  • 1st place vote is awarded 8 points,
  • 2nd place vote is awarded 5 points,
  • 3rd place vote is awarded 3 points,
  • 4th place vote is awarded 2 points, and
  • 5th place vote is awarded 1 point.

The book which receives the most points is the winner.

Lesen für den Bullen

Ihre/Deine Bewerbung als Jurymitglied

Und so gehts:
Um sich für die Jury des Buxtehuder Bullen zu bewerben, füllen Sie bitte unser Bewerbungsformular aus und senden es an uns. Klicken Sie dazu auf den Link "Bewerbungsformular" oder hier. Eine Eingangsbestätigung gibt es nicht. Der Bewerbungsschluss ist der 9. September. Danach erfolgt zeitnah die Auslosung der neuen Jury.