The "Buxtehude Bull"

The „Buxtehude Bull“ is one of the most renowned German literature prizes. The book dealer Winfried Ziemann in Buxtehude initiated it in 1971. Ever since, the best fiction book for young people published in German language is distributed annually.

Goal of the „Bull“ is to interest youth in active and intensive reading, and at the same time to promote good youth books.

The city of Buxtehude took over sponsorship in 1981. The prize gets its name from Ferdinand, the peaceful bull in the book „The Story of Ferdinand“ by Munro Leaf,  first published in 1937. The literature award includes prize money of 5.000 € and an award of a steel statue in the shape of  a bull made by  the sculptor Reinhard Güthling.

All fiction youth books that were first published in German language in the past calendar year may participate in the competition, including translations. The books up for selection are youth books that are marked by their publishers for the target groups „from 13 years of age“ or „from 14 years of age“.

The winner is determined by a jury of eleven young readers and eleven adults. The jury is formed anew every year.

From the received applications, four groups are determined by drawing lots:

  • Seven youths and seven adults residing in Buxtehude,
  • Four youths and four adults from outside the city.


Articles View Hits

We have 69 guests and no members online


Wir feiern den Siegertitel Buxtehuder Bulle 2015 und laden dazu herzlich ein


US-Schriftstellerin Victoria Aveyard kann „Buxtehuder Bullen“ nicht persönlich in Empfang nehmen – Alternativ-Veranstaltung geplant


45. Buxtehuder Bulle 2015 geht an Victoria Aveyard


45. Preisentscheidung


Jugendliteraturpreis Buxtehuder Bulle 2015


Nominierungen Buxtehuder Bulle 2015